Franklin Pierce senior part of news team honored with Murrow Award

April 10, 2009

Steven Dodrill
Steven Dodrill '09 was part of a news team that earned an Edward R. Murrow Award for WATD in Marshfield, Mass. Steven is pictured here participating in news coverage of the Presidential Debates in Manchester, N.H. last year.

RINDGE, NH - Franklin Pierce University senior Steven Dodrill was honored as part of a radio news team whose December 2008 coverage of a home explosion in Scituate, Mass led WATD to win the 2009 Radio Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Breaking News Coverage in Small Market Radio.

WATD News Reporter Steven Dodrill, General Manager and Owner Ed Perry, and Managing Editor Christine James are featured in the news coverage that earned the prestigious award. Dodrill will graduate in May with a degree in Broadcast Journalism from Franklin Pierce University.

Steven is one of three students who will be profiled in the Spring '09 issue of the Pierce Radius alumni magazine. He participated with members of the Pierce Media Group in covering the 2008 Presidential Campaign.

Regional Murrow Award winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in early June. The national Edward R. Murrow Awards will be presented October 12 at the RTNDA Awards Dinner in New York.

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971. Radio, television and online news managers from markets across the country judged the entries in March. RTNDA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries.

Listen to WATD's winning entry.