Sustainability at Franklin Pierce

Staff & Council


The Sustainability Council meets monthly to discuss and take action on campus-wide issues that affect the “triple bottom line” of sustainability including energy and greenhouse gas reduction, recycling, dining, housing, and more. Represented offices include Facilities, Purchasing, Finance, Environmental Services, Residential Life, Information Technology, the Environmental Sciences & Environmental Studies programs, the Monadnock Institute for Nature, Place and Culture, Student Affairs, and others.

Meetings are listed on the campus Calendar of Events. Council work also happens between meetings, and new members are always welcome. Serving on the Sustainability Council represents a special opportunity for students, whose energy and leadership are always needed and valued.

The Sustainability Council works with the Sustainability Center and various groups to offer events for the entire campus community, such as:

bullet Campus Sustainability Day (each October)
bullet Earth Week (each April)
bullet Energy Conservation and Recycling Contests
bullet Guest Speakers
bullet Film Festivals
bullet Zero-Waste Move-Out Days

The Commitment to Climate Neutrality is the charge of the Sustainability Council. To that end, the Council and its staff are dedicated to the ongoing work of reducing its greenhouse gas emissions; completing emissions inventories; setting target dates and interim milestones for becoming climate-neutral; and integrating sustainability into the curriculum, making it part of the educational experience. FPU's Climate Action Plan and Greenhouse Gas Inventories are available to the public through the ACUPCC or by contacting the Sustainability Center. Franklin Pierce University joined the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) as one of its first signatories in 2007. The University is also a member of The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) and has been represented in AASHE conferences and publications. 

View the Presidents' Climate Commitment here.

Members of the Sustainability Council:

bullet Prof. Catherine Koning, Environmental Science
bullet Verna DeLauer, Environmental Studies
bullet Prof. John Harris, Monadnock Institute for Nature, Place & Culture
bullet Jim Bingham, Information Technology
bullet Bob St. Jean, Director of Purchasing
bullet Jess Gerrior, Sustainability Coordinator
bullet Doug Lear, Director of Facilities
bullet Michael Mooiman, Director of the MBA in Energy & Sustainability Studies
bullet Richard Berube, Communications
bullet Ken Ervin, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
bullet Andrew Hatchett, Health Sciences
bullet Tim Brien, Athletics
bullet Doug Carty, Adventure Recreation
bullet Student Government Association and Class Representatives