The Fitzwater Center Honors

The Fitzwater HonorsThe Fitzwater Center is an arena that recognizes excellence—spanning from high school students to established professionals. The Center grants annual scholarships to students who have expressed an interest in media or politics, throughout their high school career. In addition, an annual honors ceremony awards medallions for Leadership in Public Communication.

This year's ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 18th, 2019 in Spagnuolo Hall at the Rindge Campus.

The Medallion Lecture 
"The Global Battle for Journalism's Soul"
with Richard T. Griffiths
President, Georgia First Amendment Foundation
Retired, CNN Vice-President and Senior Editorial                   Director
3:30 - 4:30 p.m., Spagnuolo Hall

The Scholars' Reception
4:45 - 5:45 p.m., DiPietro Library Commons

The Honors Ceremony

6:00 - 7:00 p.m., Spagnuolo Hall

Previous Recipients of the Fitzwater Medallion for Leadership in Public Communication

 Alexander Heffner - 2018

PBS Host, "The Open Mind"


Diane Rehm - 2017

Diane Rehm is an award-winning former American Public Radio talk show host and bestselling author. A native Washingtonian, Rehm hosted The Diane Rehm Show on WAMU and NPR for nearly 40 years, which grew from a local program to one with international reach and a weekly on-air audience of more than 2.8 million. She now carries on in podcast form, reporting on issues that matter most to her: what’s going on in Washington, ideas that inform, and the latest on living well as we live longer.

2017 recipient

Joseph Sciacca - 2016

Editor-in-Chief, Boston Herald

2016 Recipient

Juan Williams - 2014

Journalist & Political Analyst, Fox News

2014 Recipient

Tom Rosenstiel - 2012

Director and Founder, Project for Excellence in Journalism
PEW Research Centers

2012 recipient

Jeff Bartlett - 2011

President and General Manager, WMUR

2011 recipient

Candy Crowley
Senior Political Correspondent, NBC

Luke Russert
News Correspondent-at-Large, NBC

Dana Perino
Press Secretary to the President, The White House

Steve Scully
Political Editor, C-SPAN
President, White House Correspondents Association

Kenneth Walsh
Senior White House Correspondent, U.S. News & World Report

The Honorable Chuck Hagel
U.S. Senator for Nebraska

Victoria Clarke
Assistant Secretary of Defense for Public Affairs, U.S. Department of Defense

Previous Recipients of the Fitzwater Medallion for Contributions to the Public Discourse by a Graduating Student

Margaret Bell

Alyssa Borelli

Stephen Keimig

Sarah Rodriquez

Brett Bosley
Robert Driscoll

Samantha L. Debay

Erica Tomaszewski

Alyssa Dandrea

Bailey Gaffney
Robert Michaelson

Steven E. Dodrill
Derek Gorman

Arrika Knights

Matthew Leite
Trent E. Spiner

Stephen C. Lacey

Frank S. Blais
Kristen M. Costa

Previous Recipients of the Fitzwater Medallion for Contributions to the Public Discourse by a New Hampshire Journalism Educator

Adam Theriault
Souhegan High School

Tim Clark
ConVal High School

Mary Lukas DeWinkeleer
Londonderry High School

Gordon Lang
Kingswood Regional High School

Linda Lawson
Concord High School

Michael O'Leary
ConVal High School

Nancie Stone
Pinkerton Academy, Derry

Sharon Wilson
Manchester Central High School


If all communication depends on our ability to transmit ideas from one person to another, let this Center spark the intellectual curiousity, the enthusiasm and the personal integrity to make every person who passes through these halls a beacon unto the world."

Marlin Fitzwater

Center Programs

The Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication offers numerous programs that reach out to constituencies on campus, within the region and beyond to the national arena.

Pierce Media GroupThe Pierce Media Group consists of the Pierce Arrow Newspaper, FP-TV, and the Pierce radio station. This organization is operated completely by students like you that have an interest in mass communications and media.
Department of Communication

In addition, the Department of Communication is housed within the Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication and offers degrees in Communication with concentrations in Journalism and Media Production as well as Media Studies, Sports Media, and Social Media and Emergent Technologies.

About Marlin Fitzwater

Learn more about the Center’s namesake, Marlin Fitzwater, who served as press secretary to presidents Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush.